Like A Journalist, by JPF
Interview Club, by JPF
On listening to something dry - but gripping
0:00
-7:54

On listening to something dry - but gripping

I'm trying to make sense of what makes interviews work, even when they shouldn't

I’ve been doing some research about something completely different, unrelated to this Substack, and listened to several episodes of a podcast that really doesn’t go out of its way to please.

It lacks emotional highs and lows. It deals with huge numbers and abstract ideas.

And yet I was gripped. How can that be?

Here are the notes I made immediately after listening.

-

As you see, I added black ink responses to my own red-ink comments, as if in dialogue with myself.

Dialogue, huh! It can really be something.

0 Comments
Like A Journalist, by JPF
Interview Club, by JPF
For interviewers and would-be interviewers, to share ideas and get some practice.