6 Comments
author

Honestly, I have no idea whether I'm posting this in the right place to be a "chat". Is this just a regular post? I'm not sure. Well, I'm glad I posted it. I guess I'll just keep posting stuff until it's clear (to me) what I'm posting, and where. If you stumble on this, and have any thoughts about how to avoid distraction, I'm all 👂👂👂👂.

Expand full comment

Some art , inventions, and poetry is born of a moment of inspiration which comes when allowing oneself to be 'distracted' -- focussed un-gazing perhaps.

Expand full comment
author

That’s a good point, and a welcome reminder. Has it happened to / for you?

Expand full comment
May 9Liked by John-Paul Flintoff

For me, Inspiration is one of the Faculties of Consciousness (along with Intuition, Imagination, Instinct, Intellect, Body-Mind, Soul & Will -- see: https://veronikabondsynchronosophy.substack.com/p/the-sapwood-of-synchronosophy-1418)

Maybe it's a case of "both/and" -- but I go both with disciplne (eg: Picasso's "Inspiration comes when it finds you at your easel") and also aimless wandering (distraction ... going for walk in Nature, pottering around the garden, carving a piece of wood with no goal intent) during which times sometimes inspirational ideas pop into my head.

Expand full comment
author

Almost suggests you don’t need to do or not-do anything in particular except be ready to receive…

Expand full comment
May 9Liked by John-Paul Flintoff

Sounds like an apt summary to me - I guess being "ready to receive" is a state of mind that requires some delicate nurturing.

Expand full comment